About me

Hi there, my name is Tina!

I’m a geeky runner/cyclist who loves gear, apps and travelling. My Achilles heels are healthy eating and swimming. My other Achilles heel is my actual Achilles, which seems to be inclined to tendonitis.

Join me as I try to figure out how to make swimming fun, eating wholesome and tendon pain disappear. I also tackle the never-ending challenge of running and cycling ever faster and further.

 

Follow me on Instagram and Strava, or sign up below to receive updates on posts and promotions.

 

Subscribe to my mailing list

* indicates required



 

Want to get to know me even better?

 Here are a few bits and pieces of my story:
  1. I was born and raised in South Africa.
  2. I moved to the Netherlands in 2013 with my husband, who is also South Africa.
  3. Six months before we immigrated I started running. (1st of January 2013)
  4. While I ran a bit in South Africa, moving to the Netherlands and being surrounded by forest trails have given me the opportunity and safety to expand my running obsession.
  5. I am a software developer and program in an obscure language called X++.
  6. I didn’t run the first half marathon I entered. I didn’t make time to train because I discovered the series Battlestar Galactica.
  7. While I didn’t run my first half marathon as planned in 2013, I still did the 8km race in Amsterdam.
  8. Since 2013 I have lost 16 kg by running, stressing and eating fewer Dutch stroopwafels.
  9. I also didn’t run the first marathon I entered. I had an Achilles injury after my first 30 km training run.
  10. In high school, I was a terrible runner and even worse hockey player. Instead, I routinely cycled 150 km in a weekend with my dad and brother.
  11. I got back into cycling in 2016.
  12. In 2017 I replaced my eBay bike with a Canyon Endurance race bike.
  13. My family is filled with great runners. My father ran 89 km in 06:42:38.  That is 4:30 min/km (or 7 min/mile for 56 miles)! My brother runs a sub 1:30 half-marathon. Unfortunately, I’m at the shallow end of gene-pool in that regard.
  14. I’ve swum 4 open water swimming events ranging between 1 km and 1 mile. All of them were in South Africa and I did all of them because of peer pressure.
  15. If I had time and space for a dog, I would get a Rhodesian Ridgeback. They are stubborn (like me) and can run a marathon while keeping up with a horse (unlike me).
In 2017 after my first half marathon under two hours.

Welcome to my blog. I would love to hear from you in the comments!